Azeroth (World)

Updated: June 03, 2021, at 10:25 PM

Azeroth is the name of the world which has been an ongoing source of interest for both the Burning Legion and the Old Gods. Deep within its core slumbers a world-soul.


The world of Azeroth is primarily comprised of four major continents with a number of smaller islands scattered across the expanse of the great seas. At the center of the continents is a massive, chaotic whirlpool known as the Maelstrom — which is all that remains of the original Well of Eternity.

To the east lies the Eastern Kingdoms, which is made up of three major regions: Azeroth to the south, Khaz Modan in the middle, and Lordaeron to the north. To the west is Kalimdor. To the north is the frozen continent of Northrend, and to the south is the hidden landmass of Pandaria.

Before the War of the Ancients, these continents and islands were a singular, massive landmass known as Kalimdor, but the implosion of the original Well of Eternity caused a Great Sundering, which shattered the great continent into its smaller pieces and sunk a massive section of its center into the sea.

World of Azeroth
Continents Eastern Kingdoms (Azeroth?Khaz Modan?Lordaeron) • Northrend?Kalimdor
Planes Shadowlands?
Worlds of the Warcraft Universe
Plants, moons, and other locations Argus?Azeroth (Blue Child?White Lady?) • Draenor (Pale Lady?)
Cosmic planes Great Dark Beyond?Shadowlands?Twisting Nether
Category: Azeroth
Edit - History - Recent Changes - Search